The Forbidden Fruit: Temptation

And then my world grew still ……

I couldn’t figure out how I’d gone from being so happy and excited about Jesus and what he was doing in my life to being tempted by the enemy and falling into the trap again.

…..

How could I encourage people today when yesterday, I was tempted and instead of taking the way out, I failed?

I don’t know about you but when I fall into sin, my whole mood changes! I start to feel so low, ashamed, and embarrassed. I literally want to crawl in a corner, place my head in the locks of my knees, and cry a river, as a matter of a fact I do just that. I go into hiding just as Adam and Eve did (it’s our nature). I find myself doing so well when all of a sudden a thought is planted by the enemy and before I know it, actions follow. At this, I resort to a very familiar place, a place of worthlessness, filth, disgust, loneliness, frustration, and guilt. In this place, I feel unworthy to even ask for forgiveness or pray and cry out to God for help. I tend to shut God, close friends, and accountability partners out instead of inviting them into my situation and actually releasing what I’m feeling or dealing with.

What I’ve done begins to eat at me, giving the enemy free reign to shoot me down with his lies that claim, “you are not as strong as you think you are”, “each time I wave this particular apple in your face, you’ll grab it and take a bite”, “you’re not a child/woman of God, look at what you do”, “I know you won’t ask for forgiveness now, He won’t hear you”, “He’s so far away from you that there’s no need in you crying out to Him”. It is in these moments of defeat that I fold and suddenly the truth of God’s character gets buried under the lies of the enemy. Feelings of hopelessness and failure haunt me and overtake me when I feel like I’ve failed my Father again. Although I am prone to fail and mess up, it is not my desire to do so. I absolutely hate it, but I believe that my weaknesses and shortcomings are what keep me on my knees before Him. They keep me humble and constantly aware that I need a savior to get me through this life. I’m not capable in my own strength.

So, why does all those dark feelings hit you after you’ve done something wrong? Well, I’m glad you asked.

Sin ……… my friend, is the answer.

The nature of sin and the negative connotation that surrounds it is what causes us to feel the way we feel when we do wrong. It is one of those things that has messed us up since the beginning of time. Eve was tempted by the enemy and in turn she and Adam ate of the forbidden tree. They realized their nakedness and hid from God; they tried to cover themselves up so that God wouldn’t see what they’d become or what they’d done. Sis/bro, Adam and Eve ran, hid, and isolated themselves because of what they had done, and we are the same way. I know because it happens to me all the time (I’m there with you). Instead of running to Jesus, the only one to help us break free from the hold of sin, we flee from Him. In fact, we try to run as far as we can and never look back; we run into hiding not knowing that it’s a trap. We allow the enemy to entice us, and once we fall victim, we do what he knows we will do: hold our head down and feel as if Jesus is done with us for what we’ve done. Sin causes us to run from the presence of Jesus instead of into it — please, if you’re going to run, run to Him and not away from Him.

Sin makes us feel as though we’ve become disconnected and are unable to reconnect, but I have good news …… Satan is defeated and Jesus is exalted because even though we fall; he gives us the strength to get back up and plug into His power.

Think of the character and nature of Jesus. He may whisper to you and tell you that “son, you can come to me even in this”, “Daughter, I’m bigger than this mess you’re in; I’m bigger than any temptation you’ll ever face; together, we can overcome this”, “Friend, all you have to do is ask me to help you just invite me in”, “My child, I see your struggle and this is not the end for you; not even this could stop me from loving you and caring for you”, “Baby girl, even in this, my grace is still sufficient for you; I’m with you”.

Jesus is the kindest friend I know. He can save us from anything we’re struggling with. Yes, He can deliver us from the secret, scary sins we face and liberate us. He has promised to “blot out our sins and remember them no more” (Isaiah 43:25). How amazing is it that we have someone to go to when the challenges and struggles of life become too overwhelming? I don’t know about you but I’ve messed up and still mess up which is why I’m grateful that He literally forgives me and makes my sin of no significance; He wipes them away and destroys them, remembering them no more. He calls me back to himself and embraces me, making me “white as snow” with no residue left. Pretty selfless huh? He grants us many chances to make it right each day we open our eyes, because He wants us to be in right standing with Him. Though Adam and Eve messed up, He still had a plan for them; he still forgave them and set them back in place. He saw them for who they would become and not for what they’d done. It’s the same for us today, Jesus still hears us and wants to take the stench of sin away from us.

It’s almost like he says to us “you’re dealing with this particular struggle for a greater purpose, ultimately so that I’ll get the glory,  but also so that you may understand that it can’t overtake you if my grace and strength are more than enough for you to overcome it. When you’re faced with temptation, tap into my power and together we will defeat it. If you keep relying on you, knowing you’re weak, you’ll always fall prey to it. You have to understand that you only defeat temptation by remembering me as your strength”.

So it’s safe to say that there will be temptations, but if we try in our own strength, we’ll always fall victim. It’s far too powerful for us to rely on ourselves to lead us to triumph over it; it’s only through Him that we are able to prevail. So then, there’s no need to feel shame, guilt, condemnation, or defeat because you’ve fallen. The Passion Translation of the Bible puts it like this:

  • “So now the case is closed. There remains no accusing voice of condemnation against those who are joined in life-union with Jesus, the Anointed One” (Romans 8:1).

Repent (sincerely), accept His forgiveness, hold your head up, and keep moving forward. Waste no time dwelling on what you’ve done, instead, allow Jesus to enter in and help you to not be moved again.

Tips

  1. Figure out the times when you’re the most vulnerable for the enemy to tempt you and plan to be on guard in those times.
  2. Find something else to do with your time (read a book, write, call your mom or dad).
  3. If you have to have an accountability partner then do that; find someone to call or face-time until the urge is gone.
  4. If you have to go workout do that; girl/boy just go running (better turn up the speed on that treadmill and run like it’s nobody’s business).
  5. If you’re a music lover like myself, blast some gospel (yesss, Tasha Cobbs) to redirect your mind towards the love of Jesus and encourage you in Him. If you have to “scream”/sing along do so (Warning: your roommates may think you’re crazy, but go for it).
  6. Be careful of the shows you watch, the conversations you engage in, the sites you visit or the company you keep. Just take the necessary precautions to be on guard.

Remember that you’ve got this and together you and Jesus will move that mountain. Hold your head up, dry those tears, pray, repent, accept His forgiveness, and tackle the next day. Be not defeated, He still loves you and He’s still got you in his arms. The struggle to live right can be tough at times, but He’s tougher. There’s always a reason I share what I share. These blogs hit me before they hit you. This is to show you guys that I understand and we’re in this together. You are not alone. Let’s go!

Scriptures: Romans 8, 1 John 2:1-2, Psalm 103:10-12, Isaiah 43:25, Isaiah 1: 18 ❤️

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started